Armchair BEA 2016: Aesthetic Concerns – Books & Blogs

Day two of ArmchairBEA is here and today’s topic is all about the aesthetics of both the books we read and blogs we call our own! Here are my thoughts on it:

The Books:

How often do you judge a book by its cover?

Almost always! Unless I know for a FACT I will love the book. Harry Potter kinda books for example. These kinds of book I buy regardless of the cover.

How often are you surprised by what you find?

Not very often really! But it’s annoying when a cover says one story and the book says another. I chose you for a reason book, do not disappoint me!

Do you strategize and make sure every book in your series has the same cover design (as far as you are able to) and type?

I am not big into having a matching set of books. As long as I have all the books in the series I am good!

How important is it for the visual art on the outside of the book to match or coordinate with the literature art on the inside?

Like I mentioned, if I know the story is good, I don’t mind the cover. But if I am buying a book I have never heard about, then the cover becomes hella important with regards to the story! In fact many times, I buy a book because the cover says something and if the book doesn’t say the same thing it’s disappointing.

The Blog:

As a book blogger, in whatever form that takes, branding is important. Your colors, your fonts, your style of review, all of these things come together to make the “brand” of your blog – something that makes your reviews and posts and websites, all your various content, immediately recognizable to the people looking for you. What do you do to create a brand on your site? Do you think about these things?

What do you do to create a brand on your site?

For now, I am sticking to a simple design with a lot of colors or pops of color!

Do you think about these things?

When I first started off, I didn’t really care much about my “brand”. I guess I was just trying to find my place in the community. Then, I started working in the digital marketing field and realized how important my brand is and started making changes accordingly.  The new layout of my blog is filled with watercolors and I am planning to make a few more changes that will blend in with the watercolor theme!

That’s it! Now it’s your turn!

Leave your Armchair BEA links! I promise I will visit! What do you think about book covers? Are they important to you when buying a book? What is the brand for your blog?

Also, for others looking to be a part of this here is the agenda for the week. Join us!

Leave a comment