Book Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

 

this savage songTitle: This Savage Song

Author: Victoria Schwab

Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult, Paranormal

Series: Monsters Of Verity #1

Publisher: GreenWillow Books

Format: E-book

Source: Bought

Publication Date: July 5th, 2016

Synopsis: 

There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

4
There are monsters in this book! Need I say more? I have read reviews that say her other books are much better, but this is the first book I ever read so I can’t really compare.

“Corsai, Corsai, tooth and claw,
Shadow and bone will eat you raw.
Malchai, Malchai, sharp and sly,
Smile and bite and drink you dry.”
“Sunai, Sunai, eyes like coal,
Sing you a song and steal your soul.”

PLOT

It was set in a world where a city is divided in two and they are at the brink of war. While they MC’s are trying to be what they are not. And, oh! monsters are killing folks all around. So, basically, it was just monsters vs humans during most of the book. Therefore, it’s safe to say the plot in the book wasn’t anything very interesting. Yet, I absolutely loved it! What I loved most though was how Schwab showcases how monstrous humans can be.

There were times in the book where I was truly scared. The flesh-eating Corsai, the blood-drinking Malchai, and the rarest, most mysterious of all: the soul-stealing Sunai. It’s enough to terrify anybody! But what scared me most, were not the monsters themselves but the act of violence that occurred BEFORE a monster is created. See, I told you I loved how she showcases how monstrous our race can be (yes, I know I am repeating myself, but I NEED you to know!).

Having said that, though, I also had a hard time understanding and grasping all the terms and the general layout of the town in the beginning of the book. But once that was done, the book flowed quite fast and kept me hooked.

Pace

The writing was decent but the story was very gripping. The descriptions and details just added to the horror.I was instantly sucked into the story and couldn’t stop reading. I read this book within 5 hours. Which means, I was reading till 4.30 in the morning knowing I had to wake up at 6.30. Yes, I woke up at 6.30 and felt like a zombie the entire day. But would I trade the book for sleep? NOPE!   

Characters

I loved both our MC’s. The story is narrated from both their perspective. Schwab also, effortlessly, integrated the issue of identity into this book. For instance,

Kate

Is the daughter of a crime-lord and wanted to be bitter and CRUEL. Which she was in the book, but it was forced. Because she just wasn’t that person. It broke my heart to see her try to please her father by being a person she wasn’t.

August

He is a soul eating Sunai but all he wanted to be was human. And gosh, I love him SO MUCH! He is more human than most humans in the book, tbh. He is adorable, sweet, beautiful and just…ugh so many things all good. So, yeah, you know I love him, right? I hope I made that clear ❤

What made everything even better? There was no romance! None at all. And it worked so well guys, I cannot even begin to tell you.

Overall, I was very very happy with this book. The story was just the right amount of creepy. The ending was very open and I am hoping there will be a sequel. 

Do I recommend it? Hell yeah!

Plot: 3.5/5

Characters: 4.5/5

Pace: 3.5/5

Overall Rating: 4/5

Have you read the book?

What did you think about it?

Let me know in the comments!

Sush Signature

7 thoughts on “Book Review: This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab

  1. I am so glad you liked this one! I have read the Shades of Magic books by Schwab as well as this one and I actually prefer This Savage Song. There is still so much to explore and I cannot wait to read the other books, but my love for August is undying. He has instantly become my precious baby ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

