Book Review + Discussion: A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas

A Court Of Mist And Fury Review

Title: A Court of Mist and Fury

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Action & Adventure, Dating & Sex, Depression & Mental Illness, Epic, Fantasy, Fantasy & Magic, Fiction,High fantasy, Love & Romance, New Adult, Retelling,Romance, Young Adult

Series: A Court of Thorns and Roses #2

Publisher: Sunnyside Press

Format: Kindle

Source: Bought

Publication Date: May 3rd 2016

Synopsis: 

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.


My Review:

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”

I am diverging from the way I usually review books because there is so much to say and the format is too restricting.

ACOTAR was released quite a while back, but I never read it. Don’t ask me why I don’t really remember. Yet, it was always on my TBR and just three days back, I started reading the book. I am not going to review ACOTAR because, well, I have so much to say about ACOMAF.

Let me just begin by saying HOW AMAZING THIS BOOK IS!

There was so much going on in this book and so much this book made me go through. This book was exquisite in its joy and sorrow. It made me angry, made me cry, made me laugh, made me feel for the characters. Gosh, I am running short on words. The characters go through such development and it’s all so natural, it was amazing to read. The themes in the book were so very strong. Themes other YA books steer clear from yet Maas centered the book AROUND trauma and PTSD and so much more. Anyone who loves to read fantasy should read this book. Heck everyone should read this book!

Plot: 5/5

Characters: 5/5

Pace: 5/5

Overall Rating: 10/5

Have you read the book?

If not, you should!

And once you have, come back and  talk to me, please!

I have so much to say. 😀 


Spoiler filled discussion starts below! Please do not continue reading if you haven’t read both the books. You’ve been warned.


After Affects Of Trauma

Trauma is bad. The effects of trauma are bad and scary and leaves people feeling lonely. I have never come across a book that speaks about trauma so thoroughly! Feyre’s struggle was very raw. They way she suffered was not sugar coated or brushed under the rug. It was what the first half of the book was ALL about.

I didn’t really see it in the beginning, in ACOTAR, but the depression and struggle had started in the first book itself! But ACOMAF makes that struggle much rawer and powerful.

I am so very thankful to Maas for speaking about mental illness through a FANTASY book! But more than that, I love how she shows it’s more than just knowing how tragic trauma is, but it’s possible to overcome the trauma and be stronger! 

Relationships 

*breaths before I rant*

Tamlin and Feyre 

I was definitely shipping Tamlin and Feyre in ACOTAR. I wouldn’t say I loved Tamlin, but I did love Feyre. The love and dedication she had to Tamlin were commendable. Everything she went through for him, mentally and physically left me feeling hopeless for her. I wish I could help her! But that strain of Aramantha’s trials broke Feyre. And watching her die broke Tamlin. Though, like I mentioned, I didn’t see it myself in ACOTAR.

With ACOMAF though, the brokenness in both these people was evident and very obvious. I think I started disliking Tamlin when I read that he wouldn’t wake up when Feyre was puking her guts out in the middle of the night. No matter what unspoken understanding they had, I would never want my partner to leave to alone with my demons! And when he locked her up? That shattered the lit bit of hope I was still holding out for Tamlin. I remember re-reading a few things after that happened and realised that throughout ACOMAF he kept getting worse. He refused to train her, he said a ‘High Lady’ doesn’t exist, he came to her only when he needed her.

I then went on to read how locking her up put her back into the darkness and that was the last straw for both Feyre and me. I could have kissed Mor and Rhys for what they did to protect her.

“And I realized — I realized how badly I’d been treated before, if my standards had become so low. If the freedom I’d been granted felt like a privilege and not an inherent right.”

Rhysand and Feyre 

Now for my favorite literary couple! ❤

The dynamics between these two was so natural. I loved that they became friends first and fell in love later.

What I loved most though was Rhys giving her a choice every step of the way. No judgement and a lot of support. He knew Feyre was his mate and yet he would let her walk away if that’s what she wanted to do.

 

Credits: taratjah
Credits: taratjah

“And yet I found myself deciding that if you took his hand, I would find a way to live with it. It would be your choice.”
I sipped from my wine. “And if he had grabbed me?”
There was nothing but uncompromising will in his eyes. “Then I would have torn apart the world to get you back.”

 

 

The very first week in the Night Court he told her about the upcoming war. I am sure he had an inkling of Feyre mentioning all that to Tamlin but Rhys told her anyway. Once she was in the Night Court for good he showed her his treasured secret – Velaris! He challenged her, pushed her to train, he pushed her out of her dark place not just in ACOMAF but in ACOTAR as well! They become friends over the course of time, I challenge and one thought at a time.

If you were going to die, I was going to die with you. I couldn’t stop thinking it over and over as you screamed, as I tried to kill her: you were my mate, my mate, my mate.
But then she snapped your neck.”
Tears rolled down his face.
“And I felt you die,” he whispered.
Tears were sliding down my own cheeks.
“And this beautiful, wonderful thing that had come into my life, this gift from the Cauldron…It was gone.”

And when she finds out Rhys is her mate? Oh, my god! He comes to her, gives her the choice to STILL reject him but hse doesn’t. And they are PERFECT! I’m definitely Ferhys all the way!! In the end, they have grown so close that they work together without saying anything aloud. God, can I say my heart was beating like crazy when their bond was broken? </3

BUT then there was good news and I swear I scream from joy! My mom thought something was wrong with me. I also got a whack on my head. But it was worth it! 😀

“..Not consort, not wife. Feyre is High Lady of the Night Court.’ My equal in every way; she would wear my crown, sit on a throne beside mine. Never sidelined, never designated to breeding and parties and child rearing. My queen.”

Other Characters

This post is already very long, but I can’t miss out on the other characters! The Court Of Dreams Squad is what I call them. They are so perfect in their imperfection. They are the family Feyre needed. They felt like family to me as well, to be honest. The bickering, the fighting and the love and protectiveness were all there. I loved how easily they let Feyre feel like she was a part of their circle. They involved her in everything and protected her the way they would protect each other.

“Welcome to the family, Feyre.”
And I thought those might have been the most beautiful words I’d ever heard.”

Nesta and Elain were sisters I loved as well. Especially Nesta! Her strong spirit and her protectiveness over both her sisters were beautiful. Sure she didn’t show much protection when it came to Feyre but it was there. It was there between the lines!

 

I can go on and on about this book, but I will stop right here. 
Did you read the book?
Did you love it as much as I did?
What were your favorite moments?
What are the points you would like to discuss?
Let me know in the comments below! 😀

 

2 thoughts on “Book Review + Discussion: A Court Of Mist And Fury by Sarah J. Maas

  1. I just finished this yesterday, and I completely agree! This was such a strong sequel and I am so glad you liked it as much as I did. The growth in all of the characters really shows how amazing of an author Maas is. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Zoe,
      Maas really is an amazing author! Its so rare to find a second book in a series that outshines the first! I am so hungover on ACOMAF I can’t bring myself to read anything else as of now! Are you in the same position as me?
      Aww.. thank you ❤ I am glad you liked the review! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

