Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

I have decided to change the way I review. I like how this format gives me more room to talk about the book. I will try my best to leave the reviews spoiler-less. If there are spoilers, I will make sure to mention that. 

tumblr_nx422uooqd1u2yb1ko1_1280Title: The Selection

Author: Kiera Cass

Genre: Fantasy, Young-adult fiction

Series: Book 1 in a series

Publisher: Harper Collins

Publication Date: April 24, 2012

 

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.


How did I get this book: Bought

Format: Kindle Edition


My Review:

I know I am far too late to when it comes to this book or series for that matter. I read mixed reviews about it when I first came into the market. Yet, it never made me want to read it. With the recent release of The Crown, I was intrigued enough to read the series. Thank god I did, I didn’t know what I was missing out on!

Plot

The plot was really addictive. I finished the book in a day and a half! I kept looking for a place to stop but that never happened. Every chapter left me wanting more. Everything from America’s life before The Selection, to her life in the palace, her relationship with Prince Maxon, the other girls, her state of mind with both men in her life (Prince Maxon and Aspen); everything led to my need to know more.

I did see a lot of similarities with The Hunger Games.

  • America choosing to be a part of The Selection for the people she loves, just like Katniss.
  • Two men fighting for her love similar to Gale and Peeta.
  • A group of girls fighting for a guy without all the bloodshed of course.
  • Even the maids reminded me of the makeup and hair crew Katniss had.

I still loved the plot though because I realize a lot of books are similar. Ideas are bound to overlap at some point.

Pace

The book started off a little slow but the excitement and the pace increased as America started competing in The Selection. The slow pace, in the beginning, wasn’t off-putting and I really loved all the background that was explained in the first few chapters. The reason for why she didn’t want to be a part of The Selection was something I could relate to. Not because I became a Princess or anything (I wish I was, though) but because I understand the uncertainty and fear of leaving a loved one behind ( with me leaving the love of my life behind and all).

Characters

America Singer

Initially, I found the name America Singer really strange but grew to love it over time. Her character was well written and I fell in love with her as the book progressed. There were times I wanted to shake her because he annoyed me so much. But I realized she is a teenager and she was thrown into a world she never wanted to be a part of. Her confusion and indecisiveness were something I grew to understand.

Prince Maxon

This guy is my new boyfriend! I fell in love with him immediately. My love for him has nothing to do with him being a prince or being handsome but because he just so imperfectly perfect! His awkwardness was so refreshing and His elegance was so down to earth! This character was written beautifully, the mix of awkwardness and elegance was so lovely to read. The friendship between him and America and the way they slowly fell in love with each other was so different from what I usually read.

Aspen

Well, what do I say about this guy? He was an equally well-written character. The love he has for America and the way he kisses her are what I want for myself. What I didn’t like, yet still understand is how he pushed America into The Selection but didn’t like when she did start falling for Maxon. Even with that element, I am so glad the author didn’t push the same old “love triangle”. My patience for love triangles is wearing thin.

Overall, this is one of those ‘feel-good’ books.

Do I recommend it? Hell yeah!

Plot: 4/5

Characters: 3.5/5

Pace: 3.5/5

Overall Rating: 4/5

 


About The AuthorKiera Cass

Kiera Cass graduated from Radford University with a B.S. in History. She grew up in South Carolina and lives with her husband and two kids in Christiansburg, Virginia. She is also a #1 New York Times bestseller.

Just like me, she loves office supplies and desserts!

 

 

Have you read the book?

What are your thoughts?

Do you like this new review style?

Let me know in the comments below!

I love talking to you guys 😀

 

14 thoughts on “Book Review: The Selection by Kiera Cass

  1. I have read the book and I loved the first three books! The fourth was touch-and-go. Hopefully, the last will be better because I pre-ordered just for the cover (it releases end of June in my country)

    I like the new review style! Especially the highlighting main points which I somehow fail to do in my reviews but love to see while reading others. (I think you forgot to rate the pace by mistake? I don’t see a number there)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I read the first three books and love them all. I am not in the state of mind the read the others yet. I am still far too invested in America and Maxon to jump to their children.
      Thank you so much, I wasn’t sure if this review style is good enough. But I am glad you liked it 😀
      I did forget to rate the pace, thank you for pointing it out! I corrected the mistake. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know what you mean. When suddenly America and Maxon were mum and dad and the book is from their daughter’s POV, I took a while to adjust. Maybe that’s why I didn’t like the fourth because she just want America (along with her being a bitch but I’ll let you form your own opinion 😛 )

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This is probably the only book I can think of I would actually call a “guilty pleasure.” I both hated and loved it at the same time. Although maybe I mostly hated America. I’ve said it before, but I think she’s really incompetent, and it scares me other characters think she should be part of the government! :p But that didn’t stop me from also reading the second book because I really wanted to know what happened next so….

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hahaha…. I am not very fond of her either. I could relate to Maxon more than America. But in the end she grew on me. Even if it was just because I needed to know what happens next. This sure is a guilty pleasure books. Not something I will read again, but it wasn’t a book I wanted to throw across the window. Thank god, because I can’t throw my Kindle across the room, now can I? :p

      Like

  3. I really like this new reviewing style, Sush! 🙂 And I’m glad you liked this book! It was such a guilty pleasure for me, it’s probably not the best book out there, and America was annoying at times, but it was still such an entertaining book, I couldn’t stop! Have you read The Siren, or do you plan to? I think you’d like it, if you’re into Kiera Cass’ books 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Marie! I am always looking forward to your comments 😛
      Yeah, there are many books better than this, but even for not being the best, it was impossible to put down. I am planning to read The Siren, just waiting for it to reach the Indian market.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

