Mini Book Review: The Testing Trilogy by Joelle Charbonneau

Recently I have been obsessed with dystopian books and in my hunt for more hunger games and divergent, I came across this series. This series is perfect for dystopian lovers, it has everything we could ask for. A bad government, a ‘chosen few’, deadly challenges to prove yourself and of course a love story!

The Testing

The-Testing-by-Joelle-CharbonneauThis is a page turner, a quick read and has many many twists! I devoured this book in two days! I couldn’t put it down. I even took my kindle to work with me and read whenever I got the time, even if it was just 15 minutes. That’s how much fun this book is.

My only issue with the book is that I couldn’t relate to any character. I love Cia and Tomas but I couldn’t connect with them. Yet, that doesn’t make this a bad book. Dystopian lovers should definitely read this one!

 Rating: 4 stars

**NOTE: This review contains spoilers for The Testing. You have been warned.**

Independent Study

independentstudy_zps1b7d3cddTrue to the first book, Independent Study grabbed my attention from the first page. The story continues with Cia being selected as a university student after successfully completing the testing. The story was good, interesting and fast paced and this one was devoured within two days as well.

But my issue with the characters continued into this one as well. Cia was too smart, she figured out every problem too quickly – she is just too good to be true! Having said that, the book is worth a read and you won’t regret reading it!

Rating: 4 stars

 

**NOTE: This review contains spoilers for Independent Study. You have been warned.**

Graduation Day

GraduationDay

This is the last book in the series. This is also the book that opened up too many loopholes that couldn’t be ignored. Some of the children once selected for the testing were never heard from and no one questioned it? WHY? Too much was happening in this book and it was evident that the author was trying to end the series. And the ending? Oh, my god! That just left me angry and confused! Why would anyone do that to a reader! I finished the entire series to get to the end and you leave me hanging?

BUT, I did read the whole book. With all its problems, Graduation Day is equally fast-paced and a quick read. This book was done within two days as well.

Rating: 3.5 stars

Have you read any of these books? What did you think? Let me know in the comments below! 🙂 

 

 

14 thoughts on “Mini Book Review: The Testing Trilogy by Joelle Charbonneau

    1. These books haven’t exploded as much as Hunger Games and Divergent. I agree most dystopian books have the same story line and yet some of them are great! Same story line and all. This series is one of the good ones. Read it for the sheer excitement it brings! Especially the first book, its freaking amazing!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I love dystopia. It almost sounded like Divergent when I first added it to my TBR, but I completely forgot about it since I haven’t seen anyone talking about it. I’m always looking for good books that are not hyped-up. I prefer to read the ones no one has read. 😊

        Liked by 1 person

        1. Yes, The Testing is a mix of Hunger Games and Divergent. I agree, reading books that aren’t hyped up helps me make my own opinion that is not influenced by what my fav. book blogger says.

          Like

        2. That sounds exactly like something I would read. Any time I see a lot of reviews for one book I tend to avoid it, even if the reviews are good. I’m always years behind on books everyone has already read, and I like indie authors. Hardly anyone seems to review their books.

          Liked by 1 person

        3. Hahahaha…. We have that in common! I am always behind on the books that are ‘in’. Somehow I always hear of these books ages later! Oh I have a few ARCs from indie authors. The reviews should be up soon. I will definitely let you know. Who knows maybe you might find a few books you might enjoy!

          Liked by 1 person

        4. I have a few more NetGalley ARCs I have to read. I posted a handful of indie reviews this month I received from the author. I think I like indies more because they don’t come with the expectations of a hyped book. Yeah, that would be great. I would love to read them. Anytime I see an unknown author I’m always more interested than the famous ones.

          Liked by 1 person

        5. Oh! I ‘d love to read those reviews. I’ll go hunt them down on your blog. I love indie authors because they actually published a book. Unlike me, who can never finish hers. :p They are inspiring in a way!

          Like

        6. Most of my reviews are indie authors. I have another one I need to post this week for Teresa Mummert’s new book. She’s one of my favorite authors. I finished 2 manuscripts, but I keep stalling. I really need to force myself to send the proofed copy back to the editor so she can format it. I don’t know what my problem is. It’s like it will feel too real once I have the files to upload to all the self-pub sites. It’s kinda scary.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

