Mini Book Review: Eleanor And Park And Saint Anything

I haven’t posted anything for a while but that does not mean i haven’t been reading. In fact I have been reading a lot. Work this week was very crazy and I just could not write anything. I had a Top Ten Tuesday post ready but when I posted it the formatting was terrible, so I had to take it down.

Anyways, I am doing a mini review of all the books I read this week. I am trying something different so let me know if you like it.

Eleanor And Park

Eleanor and Park Book ReviewGoodread Synopsis: 

Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem dabber and flatter and never good enough…Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises…Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds—smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

My review:

There were a few people on twitter who said that this book isn’t the best out there. And that kind of made me a little wary to read it because I did not want another Red Queen to repeat itself. But on the other hand I read amazing reviews from some of the blogs that i follow. So trusting them I jumped head first into it! And I, despite my reservations, fell in love with the characters. What I loved is the fact that it took me back in time and reminded me what that first love felt like. I read an e-book version of it and I have highlighted so many quotes that capture the anxiety and the excitement of simple things like touching each other, holding hands, having a common interest etc.

Eleanor and Park as characters were beautifully written. I loved that the book was written in both Eleanor and Park’s perspective. The joy of looking into both their thoughts and feelings again just took me back to when I was young and thought was in crazy love.

Overall this was an amazing read. And if you haven’t read this book you need to, like now!

Saint Anything

Saint Anything Book ReviewGoodreads Synopsis:

Peyton, Sydney’s charismatic older brother, has always been the star of the family, receiving the lion’s share of their parents’ attention and—lately—concern. When Peyton’s increasingly reckless behavior culminates in an accident, a drunk driving conviction, and a jail sentence, Sydney is cast adrift, searching for her place in the family and the world. When everyone else is so worried about Peyton, is she the only one concerned about the victim of the accident?

Enter the Chathams, a warm, chaotic family who run a pizza parlor, play bluegrass on weekends, and pitch in to care for their mother, who has multiple sclerosis. Here Sydney experiences unquestioning acceptance. And here she meets Mac, gentle, watchful, and protective, who makes Sydney feel seen, really seen, for the first time.

My review:

I flew through this book!  Stayed up till 4 in the morning on a work day even though I should probably have been asleep. Sarah Dessen managed to both frustrate me and at the same time keep falling more and more in love. Sydney’s family made my blood boil sometimes. I understood what place they came from but the decisions or lack thereof still frustrated me. I enjoyed her relationship with the Chathams, each and every one of them.

I loved that the romance took a backseat to the teenage issues that were tackled. In fact I wouldn’t just limit to all to teens, I could relate to Sydney in quite a lot of situations. Her confusion made sense to me. Her struggles made sense to me. Her relationship with Mac was so sweet. It was the perfect blend of cute and mature. Just the way a relationship should be. Even though their romance didn’t play a central role to the story it was still something I would not want to miss.

Overall I loved this book enough to want to read it again.

5 thoughts on “Mini Book Review: Eleanor And Park And Saint Anything

  1. I’m so happy you loved Eleanor and Park!!! It was very heartbreaking but I loved it soooo much. What do you think are the last three words??? I’m kinda hesitant to try another Sarah Dessen book… I didn’t like What Happened to Goodbye much (it was pretty cliche) but the reviews for this one was pretty good! So I think I should read this one. Have you read others from her? Which are the good ones??? Love you blog, btw! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

