Bookish Quotes No. 1

“You never really understand a person until you consider things from his point of view – until you climb into his skin and walk around in it.”

– Harper Lee (To Kill A Mockingbird)

This happens to be one of my favorite quotes from the book To Kill A Mockingbird. This little quotes depicts what everyone wants others to do for them and what not everyone does. Who doesn’t want people to understand what they are going through? Who doesn’t want people to consider their situation before they are judged for being someone or doing something?  Who doesn’t want just a little bit of understanding and a little bit of consideration? But unfortunately, there are few people who will walk in the other persons shoes, who will  see things from their perspective.

It has taken me years of practice to live a life where I actively consider someones situation before I pass a comment or judge them over something. I still have my moments when I fail in my endeavor to do so. There are times and there are people for whom my considerate side just goes out the window and to be very honest a few times I don’t even try to understand before I pass my judgement.

But at the back of my head there one single question that is always being asked, “Sush, how perfect are you, that you have the right to judge someone?”

Such an amazing question isn’t it? Who am I? Am I someone who has done everything perfect in my life and therefore have the right to judge someone else for their choice or their mistake. Do I really have that power?

So here I am, writing my very first bookish quote and showing the world a tiny part of who I am. But my question to you is this: Are you like me who struggles with wearing someone else’s shoe? Or do you always consider someone? Or do you never?

****

Bookish Quotes is an inspiration post created by me at Fervently Curious. I will be posting on three days of the week (preferably, Monday, Thursday and Saturday). I won’t just be posting quotes but will also write what each of those quotes mean to me on a personal level.

You can check out all my quotes here.

Leave a Reply

