Fairest By Marissa Meyer

In this stunning bridge book between Cress and Winter in the bestselling Lunar Chronicles, Queen Levana’s story is finally told. Fairest Book Cover

 Title: Fairest

Author: Marissa Mayer

Genres: Young adult, Science Fiction, Retelling

Series: #3.5 in The Lunar Chronicles

Published by:  Feiwel & Friends

Publication date: January 27th 2015

Rating: 4.5/5

Synopsis: Mirror, mirror on the wall,  

     Who is the fairest of them all?

Fans of the Lunar Chronicles know Queen Levana as a ruler who uses her “glamour” to gain power. But long before she crossed paths with Cinder, Scarlet, and Cress, Levana lived a very different story – a story that has never been told . . . until now.


My Review:  

I read this book as a part of the Eclectic Reader Challenge and this is the fourth book I have read in the Lunar Chronicles. If you aren’t familiar with the series, here is a quick recap. This entire series is a retelling of popular fairytales starting from Cinder (Book 1), Scarlet (Book 2), Cress (Book 3) and the final book Winter (Book 4). Each book is a retelling of Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White respectively with a steampunk vibe to it, where they wander around earth looking for answers and their happily ever after.

“She cried for the girl who had never belonged. A girl who tried so hard, harder than anyone else, and still never had anything to show for it.”

Since the very first book I have always hated Levana but after this book I hate her even more, in fact I got so angry I sopped reading the book for a few hours just to clam down. If I remember correctly I even ranted about her to my mother. I actually did feel sorry for Levana in the beginning of the novella considering how Channary, her cruel elder sister, treated her. But that sympathy went away pretty quickly. I do not want to give away much of the story in this review, but I can tell you this her back story in no way can be used as an excuse to all her evil deeds. The evil acts she has committed in this book to come into power are truly chilling. the framework of her mind had me screaming NO from the very beginning of the book. And the end? It was one of those feelings where you kind of expected this to happen but didn’t really think she would do it.

“Maybe she truly was hideous. But so long as she could deceive everyone, what did it matter?”

The character of Levana just brings out pure hatred in me, but all I have for Marissa Meyer is love. She has such a way of weaving her words. Her depiction of Levana kept sending chills down my spine. It’s not an easy feat for an author to do so by mere words. I loved that there were so many references to the other books in the series. We also saw got to see Winter as a child which has me waiting to read Winter, which comes out in November.

I would recommend this book be read in the proper order of the series as it will make more sense and answer a lot of questions and will also keep the continuity of the book alive.

“Love is a conquest, love is a war”

Rating HeartRating HeartRating HeartRating HeartRating Heart

Leave a Reply

